AGRF congratulates the winners of the Prime Minister's Prize for Science and the Frank Fenner Prize

31 October 2014

The power of genomics!

Congratulations to the winners of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science, our longstanding colleagues Laureate Professor Sam Berkovic AC and Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO, both from the University of Melbourne for their discoveries of links between epilepsy and genes which opened the way to better targeted research, diagnosis and treatment of epilepsy

This prize recognises their fabulous partnership in epilepsy research over 25 years and AGRF is particularly proud to have provided access to a series of genetic technologies over many years to drive their discoveries.

Congratulations to Professor Ryan Lister who was awarded the Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year.  Professor Lister is from the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Plant Energy Biology at the University of Western Australia. Professor Lister has utilised genomics in a broad array of research endeavours across the species and is a highly regarded scientist and collaborator.  

This award is in recognition of his contributions to the understanding of gene regulation and its potential ability to advance agriculture and the treatment of human disease including mental health.  Researching epigenomes - the chemical compounds surrounding DNA and control how genes are turned on and off – has helped reveal why leaf cells develop differently from root cells or a human stem cell differs from a human skin cell

[Read more]

"Our nation stands stronger on the platform of science and we should all find a place on that platform”.
Australia’s Chief Scientist Professor Ian Chubb, 29th October 2014.